Advisory Committee

The Executive Board of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is assisted by an Advisory Committee of twelve members, nominated by prescribed organisations and appointed by the Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment. The Director General of the EPA, is ex officio, a member and Chairperson of the Committee.  The term of office of the Committee is three years.

The Advisory Committee has a wide range of advisory functions under the EPA Act, including making recommendations to the EPA, or the Minister, relating to the functions of the EPA.

The 7th EPA Advisory Committee was appointed by Mr. Denis Naughton, TD, Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment on 05 December 2016.

Appointees from Prescribed Bodies 

  • Ms. Collette Byrne (nominated by the County and City Managers Association)
  • Dr. Ina Kelly (nominated by the Directors of Public Health of HSE)
  • Dr. Cara Austenbourg (nominated by the Irish Environmental Network)
  • Dr. Ronan Kennedy (nominated by the Irish Environmental Law Association)
  • Mr. Harold Kingston (nominated by the Irish Farmers Association)
  • Ms. Elaine Nevin (nominated by the National Youth Council of Ireland)
  • Prof. Fiona Lyng (nominated by the Irish Radiation Research Society)

Ministerial Appointees 

  • Dr. Aine Ryall
  • Mr. Sean Finlay
  • Mr. Frank Conlon
  • Mr. Sean Finan


Ms. Laura Burke, Director General, EPA

Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes

Approved minutes of all meetings of the EPA Advisory Committee.

View the Sixth Advisory Committee's report to the Minister for Enviornment, Community and Local Government.

View EPA Office Locations
View Desktop site