New EPA Director appointed by Government

Date released: Jul 17 2017

 New EPA Director Appointed by Government

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is pleased to announce the appointment, by Government, of Dr Eimear Cotter as a Director of the Environmental Protection Agency. Laura Burke, Director General of the EPA, today welcomed the appointment, which is a full-time executive appointment with a term of office of five years.

Dr Eimear Cotter has a wide range of experience in environmental protection, climate change, sustainable energy and sustainability. She is currently head of Low Carbon Technologies in the Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland (SEAI) where she leads the organisation’s policy advisory and research functions. Previous to this, she was with the EPA for over 8 years in the Office of Environmental Sustainability. 
Eimear holds a BA from Trinity College Dublin, a PhD from Oxford University and an MBA from UCD’s Smurfit Business School.
She will take up the new position in September 2017.

Further information: EPA Media Relations Office 053-9170770 (24 hours) email:

Note to Editors:

Director of the EPA is a full time position, based at the EPA’s headquarters in Wexford, with a five year term of office.
Appointment of Director of the EPA by Government follows from a recommendation made by an independent selection committee convened in accordance with the EPA Act, 1992.  The independent selection committee conducts a public recruitment competition to select candidates suitable for recommendations to Government.