Our Board

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is managed by a full-time Executive Board consisting of a Director General and five Directors.  Our activities are organised into five Offices, with each Office reporting to a Director.

Director General

Photograph of the EPA Director General, Laura Burke

Laura Burke

 Board Members

photograph of Dr Tom Ryan, Director in the EPA

Gerard O'Leary, Deputy Director General, EPA

Photograph of Michael Lehane, Director at the EPA

Sharon Finegan Director EPA

Photograph of Eimear Cotter, Director at the EPA

Tom Ryan

Gerard O'Leary‌

Micheál Lehane

Sharon Finegan

Eimear Cotter


Our Directors and staff adhere to a code of business conduct in undertaking their duties.  An advisory committee, chaired by the Director General, meets several times a year to raise issues of concern and offer advice to the board.

Learn more

Download our Code of Business Conduct

Read about the EPA Advisory Committee

Download our Strategic Plan 2016-2020