New Director Joins EPA Board

Date released: Aug 27 2018


New Director Joins EPA Board

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is pleased to welcome Dr Tom Ryan onto the EPA Board. Dr Ryan took up his new position as Director of the Office of Environmental Enforcement on 25th August 2018.
Laura Burke, Director General of the EPA, welcomed Tom onto the Board where he joins fellow Directors Gerard O’ Leary (Office of Communications and Corporate Services), Dr Matthew Crowe (Office of Evidence and Assessment), Dr Micheál Lehane (Office of Radiation Protection and Environmental Monitoring) and Dr Eimear Cotter (Office of Environmental Sustainability).

Dr Ryan has a wide range of experience and specialist knowledge in radiological and environmental protection. He most recently served as Programme Manager in the EPA’s Office of Environmental Sustainability where he was responsible for national waste statistics, the national waste prevention programme as well as greenhouse gas inventories and projections. Before this, Tom spent over 25 years in radiological protection in roles ranging from research, licensing and enforcement, nuclear safety and emergency preparedness; as well as working for a period with the European Commission in Luxembourg.

Dr Ryan holds a BSc and PhD in experimental physics from UCD and an MSc in management practice from TCD through the Irish Management Institute (IMI).

Further information: EPA Media Relations Office 053-9170770 (24 hours) email:

Note to Editors:

Director of the EPA is a full-time executive position, based at the EPA’s headquarters in Johnstown Castle, Wexford, with a five-year term of office.
Appointment of Director of the EPA by Government follows from a recommendation made by an independent selection committee convened in accordance with the EPA Act, 1992.  The independent selection committee conducts a public recruitment competition to select candidates suitable for recommendations to Government. The Environmental Protection Agency is managed by a full-time Executive Board consisting of a Director General and five Directors.

Photo of Dr Tom Ryan is available from the EPA Press Office.