New Director Joins EPA Board

Date released: September 26, 2023

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is pleased to welcome David Flynn onto the EPA Board. David will take up his new position as Director of the EPA in October 2023.

Laura Burke, Director General of the EPA, welcomed David onto the Board, where he joins fellow Directors Gerard O’ Leary (Office of Communications and Corporate Services & Environmental Sustainability), Dr Micheál Lehane (Office of Radiation Protection and Environmental Monitoring), Dr Eimear Cotter (Office of Evidence and Assessment), and Dr Tom Ryan (Office of Environmental Enforcement).

Headshot of David Flynn


David has over twenty years of experience in environmental science and protection.  He has held various roles, most recently as Principal Adviser (Water) in the Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage.  Previously, he worked as Licensing Programme Manager and as Enforcement Programme Manager with the EPA. David holds a Bachelor of Science in environmental science, Master of Science and an MBA from UCD.

Further information: Emily Williamson, EPA Media Relations Office: 
053-91 70770 (24 hours) and

Notes to Editor
The Environmental Protection Agency is managed by a full-time Executive Board consisting of a Director General and five Directors. A Director of the EPA is a full-time executive position, with a five-year term of office. Appointment of Director of the EPA by Government follows from a recommendation made by an independent selection committee convened in accordance with the EPA Act, 1992.  The independent selection committee conducts a public recruitment competition to select candidates suitable for recommendations to Government.