Climate Research Coordination Group

Update, December 2023: The Climate Research Coordination Group, which had been retained as a subgroup of the NERCG, was disbanded in 2023 and its activities subsumed into the NERCG, reflecting the broader importance of climate across all sectors.

The Climate Research Coordination Group is identified in the government’s climate policies as the body representing the key actors in Irelands’ climate change-related research activity. The Climate Research Coordination Group reports annually on its activities and provides an assessment and synthesis of key findings from the research programme and wider research activities every 5 years. 

Go to the National Climate Research Projects Database (listing research funded by the members of the National Climate Research Coordination Group) 

Read more about the Annual Reports of Activities of the Climate Research Coordination Group

The members of the Climate Research Coordination Group are listed in the table below (as of December 2021). 

Climate Research Coordination Group 
Central Statistics Office 
City and County Managers Association 
Climate Change Advisory Council (CCAC) 
Department of Agriculture, Food and Marine 
Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation 
Department of the Environment, Climate and Communications
Department of Foreign Affairs 
Department of the Taoiseach 
Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media
Department of Transport
Enterprise Ireland 
Environmental Protection Agency  
Health Service Executive 
Irish Environmental Network 
Irish Research Council 
Irish Water 
Marine Institute 
Met Éireann 
National Parks and Wildlife Services 
National Transport Authority 
National Treasury Management Agency 
National Economic and Social Council 
Northern Ireland Environment Agency 
Office of the Planning Regulator 
Office of Public Works 
Science Foundation Ireland 
Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland 
Sustainable Northern Ireland